Just like employers all around the country, businesses in Minnesota must follow a strict set of standards when it comes to hiring and firing workers. Many workers may feel as though they know the employment law standards to which companies are held, but there are common questions that most people have.
First, contrary to popular belief, an employee is not required to give two weeks’ notice before leaving a job, and neither is an employer who wishes to end a worker’s employment. The two week notice period is a professional courtesy, not a law. When it comes to terminations, law dictates that employers must give the fired employee a truthful reason for the action, with some caveats. The employee, if not told why the termination occurred, must file a request for a reason in writing within 15 days. The employer then has 10 days to respond in writing.
If it is believed that the reasons for the termination are unfair, the employee, in certain cases, can file a complaint. Since Minnesota is an “at will” employment state, an employer may terminate any employee for any reason that is legal. Employees who feel as though they have been discriminated against on basis of race, sex, age, disability, sexual orientation, national origin, or marital status may file a complaint with the state’s department of human rights. There are also restrictions against retaliating against whistle-blowers.
There are many different rules and regulations concerning the rights of employees in Minnesota that can become difficult for an untrained individual to follow. If anyone feels as though he or she has been wronged by an employer as far as layoffs, terminations, or unpaid wages, it may be wise to seek a legal opinion before engaging in an official complaint process.
Source: Minnesota department of labor & industry, “Labor Standards — Frequently asked questions about termination“, September 16, 2014