Workers in Minnesota may be interested to learn the answers to common questions about wage and hour laws that affect them. Legal standards concerning minimum wage and overtime affect all employees. If a worker determines that their employer is not meeting legal employment requirements, the Department of Labor suggests that the worker file a complaint with the Labor Standards unit.
The overtime laws in Minnesota concern all hours that are worked past 48 hours within one seven-day workweek. Federal law says that overtime begins after 40 hours in a workweek, and some Minnesota businesses will be subject to this law. Overtime wage is one and one-half times the wage that is normally paid to an employee. Although some employers pay extra voluntarily, workers are not legally entitled to receive time-and-a-half for working on holidays.
All employees must be paid at least minimum wage for all of the time they spend at work. This time includes training, work-related meetings, preparation time and openings and closings. An employer may not request that an employee wait at their place of employment until an establishment gets busy without paying for their time. Employers are also not allowed to deduct cash shortages, breakages and uniform costs from worker’s paychecks.
If a worker suspects that his or her employer is in violation of wage laws, that person might be able to file a complaint and pursue compensation. When pursuing such an action, it might be beneficial for the claimant to work with an attorney who has experience in employment law litigation. That attorney may be able to build and present the client’s case before authorities.
Source: Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry, “Labor Standards — Frequently asked questions about wages and overtime “, September 21, 2014